TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

MEETING MINUTES

Of November 17, 2023

<u>Call to Order:</u> TPB Chair Ricardo Samaniego called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:42 a.m. at the Blue Flame Building, 17th Floor (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901, and also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
Ricardo Samaniego (Chair)	Judge, El Paso County	Joseph Cervantes	NM State Senator, District 31
2. Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3	Claudia Ordaz	TX State Representative – 76th District
3. Mo Moabed	County Commissioner, Doña Ana County	Lina Ortega	TX State Representative – 77th District
4. Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport	Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75 th District
5. Chris Canales	City of El Paso Representative – District 8	Anthony Turner	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
6. Walter Miller	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City	Ramon Cano	Mayor, Town of Clint
7. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT El Paso District	Cary Westin	City Manager, City of El Paso
8. Yvette Hernandez	City Engineer, COEP	Eddie Morales	TX State Representative – 74th District
9. Diana Murillo	Mayor, Anthony, NM	Willie Madrid	NM State Representative District 53
10. Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Rudy Cruz	City of Socorro, District 3 Representative
11. Cesar Blanco	TX State Senator	Oscar Leeser (Vice-Chair)	Mayor, City of El Paso
12. Aaron Chavarria	District Engineer, NMDOT	Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District
13. Isela Reyes	Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX	Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM
14. Norma Palacios	Assistant Public Works Director, El Paso County	Isabel Salcido	City of El Paso Representative - District 5
15. Rachel Quintana	Mayor, Village of Vinton		
16. Cassandra Hernandez	City of El Paso Representative – District 3	MPO STAFF	
17.		Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
18.		Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
19.		Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
20.		Gerardo Fierro	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
21.		Sonia Perez	Regional Transportation Planner
22.		Marisol Enriquez	Administrative Secretary
23.		Anne Guayante	Regional Transportation Manager

(Meeting began with 16 members)

• No Public Comment: No member of the public signed up for Initial Public Comment

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

1. Consider approval of the minutes of the October 20, 2023 TPB meeting.

Presenter: TPB Chair

Motion to approve the minutes of the October 20, 2023, EPMPO TPB meeting made by Senator Cesar Blanco and seconded by Representative Cassandra Hernandez. Motion passed unanimously.

2. Consider approval of an Interlocal Cooperation Agreement with the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP).

Presenter: Harrison Plourde (MPO)

- Chris Canales commented
- Sergio Estrada commented
- Iliana Holguin commented

Motion to approve an Interlocal Cooperation Agreement with the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) made by Representative Commissioner Iliana Holguin and seconded by Representative Cassandra Hernandez. Motion passed unanimously.

3. Consider approval of an Interlocal Cooperation Agreement with the Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI).

Presenter: Harrison Plourde (MPO)

Motion to approve an Interlocal Cooperation Agreement with the Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI) made by Commissioner Iliana Holguin and seconded by Representative Cassandra Hernandez. Motion passed unanimously

4. Consider approval of staff recommendation to select a general planning consultant and to authorize the Executive Director to negotiate and execute a consulting agreement.

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO)

- Ellen Smyth commented
- Sam Rodriguez commented
- Chris Canales commented
- Cassandra Hernandez commented

Motion to approve staff recommendation to select a general planning consultant and to authorize the Executive Director to negotiate and execute a consulting agreement made by Representative Cassandra Hernandez and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

5. Consider approval of amendment to the RMS 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to include Appendix D: Environmental Clearance Project Listing.*

Presenter: Anne Guayante (MPO)

Ellen Smyth commented

Motion to approve amendment to the RMS 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to include Appendix D: Environmental Clearance Project Listing made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Mo Moabed. Motion passed unanimously.

6. Consider approval of amendments to the Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and RMS 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to program the Traffic Management Center Upgrade Phase 1 project using Category 5 CMAQ-Exempt in Fiscal Year (FY) 2024.*

Presenter: Anne Guayante (MPO)

Ellen Smyth commented

Motion to approve amendments to the Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and RMS 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to program the Traffic Management Center Upgrade Phase 1 project using Category 5 CMAQ-Exempt in Fiscal Year (FY) 2024 made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Representative Cassandra Hernandez. Motion passed unanimously.

7. Consider approval of El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization (EPMPO) 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) project list.

Presenter: Anne Guayante (MPO)

- Cassandra Hernandez commented
- Chris Canales commented

Motion to El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization (EPMPO) 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) project list made by Representative Cassandra Hernandez and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

8. Administrative amendment to the RMS 2050 MTP to amend the *Downtown 10 Executive Center to SL478 COPIA Segment 2* project to change the project name, project description and move from FY 2027 to FY 2029

Presenter: Marty Boyd (TxDOT)

- Ellen Smyth commented
- Chris Canales commented
- Tomas Trevino commented
- 9. RMS 2020 Project Status Report

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO)

- 10. Executive Director's Report
 - a. Proposed revisions to the Texas Administrative Code
 - b. Border Trade Advisory Committee meeting
 - c. Congresswoman Escobar's meeting on the Bridge of the Americas improvements
 - d. Texas Transportation Committee meetings
 - e. Joint Working Committee meeting in Mexico City

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO)

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>December 15, 2023,</u> at the at Blue Flame Building, Floor 17 (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Ave, El Paso, TX 79901

11. Adjournment.

Adjournment at 11: 01 a.m.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the

Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area